Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Brighton
(485 results)



Display: 50

    • John Farrell property, Arden Hills, Minnesota

    • 1868
    • The farm of the John Farrell family who came to America from Ireland in 1849. They bought their first 160 acres at Lake Johanna in present-day Arden Hills, from Major McLean, the Indian agent, and the title was signed by President Millard Fillmore...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Northern Pacific Transcontinental Train after leaving St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1883
    • Northern Pacific Railway Transcontinental Train, the first northern transcontinental train, as it appeared in September, 1883, enroute from Saint Paul to Gold Creek, Montana, where on September 8 the Northern Pacific's last spike was driven. ...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Map of Nicollet County, Minnesota

    • 1885
    • Map of Nicollet County, Minnesota, 1885. Cover names Haynes & Woodard as the publishers. The book contains 22 pages of color maps of all 13 Nicollet County townships. This is one of two versions of this atlas in the collection of the Nicollet...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Map of Nicollet County, Minnesota (1885)

    • 1885
    • Map of Nicollet County, Minnesota, 1885. Cover names Haynes & Woodard as the publishers. The atlas contains 13 color maps of all 13 Nicollet County townships. This is the second of two versions of this atlas in the collection of the Nicollet...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Harris Brothers Forge and Rolling Mill, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1891
    • Harris Brothers Forge and Rolling Mill began in the Irondale area in 1891. This mill turned bundles of scrap iron into large balls which were made into various shapes and forms. Seventy-five company homes were built for workers and their families...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Atlas of St. Paul, Minnesota (Plat Book), Volume 2, 1891

    • 1891
    • Volume II includes Como, Warren Dale, Hamline, Merriam Park, Midway, Union Park, St. Anthony Park, New Brighton. Maps are listed on numbered pages, 101 through 210, with two additional maps numbered 210a and 210b. There are a total of 56 maps. Each...
    • Saint Paul Public Library
    • Plat Book of Nicollet County, Minnesota (1899)

    • 1899
    • Plat book of Nicollet County, Minnesota, 1899. Title page names North West Publishing Co., and states that information was compiled from county records and actual surveys. The book includes 31 pages of color maps of all 13 Nicollet County...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Camp meeting at Nicollet Township, Minnesota

    • 1900
    • Camp meeting at Nicollet, Minnesota, probably near the Brighton Church. A tent is in the background, maybe a cook tent. One can see dishes, even glassware with stems, on the front table. A coffeepot holds the place of honor at the head, and another...
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • Peoples Coal and Ice Company,  New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900
    • Peoples Coal and Ice Company had five ice houses on the east side of Long Lake which first served the stockyards industry and later provided a busy commercial ice industry for some 60 years in New Brighton. The ice was stored in well-insulated ice...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Stockyards and ice houses, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The stockyard industry, one of New Brighton's earliest business enterprises, was begun in 1889. The stockyard enterprises consisted of two large packing houses, the Twin City Packing Company and the Minneapolis Stock yards and Packing Company,...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • First Congregational Church, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The first church in New Brighton was the First Congregational Church of New Brighton, incorporated on September 5, 1890. This church was built in 1892 at a cost of $1500. It was located on the west side of Fifth Avenue and Sixth Street.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Treat Blacksmith Shop, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The first blacksmith shop in New Brighton was built in 1905 and was located next to the Town Hall. The blacksmith shop also had owner lodging above. Later a garage addition was added on to the south side facing the Village Hall. Another addition...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Town Hall, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The New Brighton Town Hall was built in 1898. Although planned as early as 1891, it took seven years to finish the project. It held the police department, government offices, and social events which were held in the upstairs auditorium. It was...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Long Lake with water tower, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • New Brighton's Long Lake from the west side of the lake, showing the remains of the stockyards industry, pump house, ice houses, and the stockyards water tower.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Long Lake, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • A pristine view of Long Lake in New Brighton shows a horse on the lakeshore. The water was so pure in Long Lake that it provided a busy commercial ice industry for sixty years.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • St. John the Baptist Catholic Church, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1907
    • St. John the Baptist Catholic Church was founded in 1902. The congregation first built a rectory and then a basement church in 1907 on Fifth Avenue. The parish, which became one of the largest in the state, built a church atop the basement in...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Men's baseball team, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1909
    • New Brighton baseball team in 1909. Left to right, front row: John Zellie, Jake Leier, Charles Beisswenger; second row: Walter Hudoba, unidentified, George Leier, Phil Bourdeau; top row: Lawrenence Johnson, Chris Bordeaux, Mr. Ingalls,...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • First Congregational Church annual picnic, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1909
    • The First Congregational Church of New Brighton was incorporated in 1890 and built in 1892 at a cost of $1500. It was located on the west side of 5th Avenue and 6th Street and operated in that location until 1958, when it was purchased by the New...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • First Elementary School, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1910
    • New Brighton Elementary School, originally called District #18, was built in 1890, and served students in the area until 1939, when the second New Brighton Elementary School was built on 8th Avenue. The first building eventually housed the...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Transit House Hotel, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1911
    • The Transit House Hotel was the first hotel in New Brighton, built by its first mayor, Jack Davies. The hotel was located on Tenth Street and Fifth Avenue. Davis is standing in the doorway. The hotel was built for travelers to the stockyards and...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Langner Party in Irondale, Columbia Heights, Minnesota

    • 1912
    • Social events in the 1910s included parties and picnics. A wagonload of friends and relatives leaving Columbia Heights for a picnic at the residence of Hubert and Jennie Langner, located at Rice Creek near Long Lake in the old Irondale area.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Atlas of Nicollet County Minnesota 1913

    • 1913
    • Atlas and Farm Directory of Nicollet County, Minnesota, 1913. Title page names Webb Publishing Co. as the publisher and Anderson Publishing Co. as the compiler. The atlas contains 18 pages of color maps of all 13 Nicollet County townships,...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • James J. Hill funeral, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1916
    • James J. Hill funeral on May 29, 1916, with the following individuals standing behind floral wreathes: T. J. Balmer, Seattle; L. C. Gilman, V. P. Seattle; A. J. Whitaker; Frank A. Davis; Ralph Budd; George R. Martin; W. J. McMillan, President,...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • MacGillis & Gibbs Company workers, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1917
    • MacGillis & Gibbs Company workers with their horses as they transport telephone poles. The company specialized in the treatment, production and distribution of telephone poles beginning in 1919. The company employed many New Brighton men.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Water tower, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1917
    • Water tower in downtown New Brighton situated on Fifth Avenue. It was built in 1917 by Chicago Bridge and Ironworks. The water tower and pump house were just to the south of the fire station and served the city until 1970.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Lubiewski Saloon, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1917
    • The Lubiewski Saloon was located at Fifth Avenue and Tenth Street in New Brighton. Owned by Al Lubiewski, it was purchased in 1938 by Henry Bona, who in 1939 sold it to the Village of New Brighton, which then went into the municipal liquor...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Belt Line Brick Company employees, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • The Belt Line Brick Company operated a plant in New Brighton beginning in 1910. They ran the business on a 24 hours-per-day basis. Its operation slowed up in post-World War II years as the plant became outmoded. It was dismantled in 1961. The...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Animal capacity at the stockyards, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • The stockyard industry was a million dollar operation at the turn of the century. The stockyards, completed in September, 1889, could accommodate 5000 cattle, 10,000 hogs, 20,000 sheep, and 500 horses on its 30 acres. Cattle pens are shown.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Town Hall, New Brighton, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • The New Brighton Town Hall in the background, with someone's pet dogs in the front.
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK