Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: It
(10275 results)



Display: 50

    • Zenith Furnace, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917 - 1920
    • Zenith Furnace Company opened in 1902. This complex eventually included a blast furnace, a coal dock, and sixty-five coke ovens located on eighty acres of land along St. Louis Bay. The company produced pig iron, was active in the wholesale coal...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1905?
    • This is the West Duluth plant of the Zenith Furnace Company. West Duluth is a neighborhood of Duluth. Captain August B. Wolvin bought the aging blast furnace at this Fifty-seventh Avenue West location, modernized it and organized Zenith Furnace...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Young People's Association District Convention, Sleepy Eye, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • Attendees of the Young People's Alliance, District Convention at the Sleepy Eye Evangelical Church pose in front of the church on the lawn. This movement won approval of the General Conference in 1891. It was the organization which had been...
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • Wreckage of the Pleiades, Oltmsted County, Minnesota

    • 1937-07-18
    • A group of local sight seers and souvenir hunters are gathered around the wreckage of the Pleiades, the gondola used by Dr. Jean Piccard during his flight. The gondola quickly burned after a fire was caused by burning excelsior ignited by the TNT...
    • Olmsted County Historical Society
    • Wreck of the package freighter "Arthur Orr," Silver Bay, Minnesota

    • 1898-11-21
    • The "Arthur Orr" was a 286 foot, 2,329 ton steel package freighter. It was wrecked at the mouth of the Baptism River on Lake Superior's North Shore. It was loaded with flour, copper and shingles. Salvage and repairs cost $10,000.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Worship of the Sun

    • 1852
    • This is a print by the artist and military officer Seth Eastman, who was stationed in Minnesota before statehood. It shows a Native American ceremony.
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Working on the River

    • 2012-05
    • This guide uses primary resources to help students understand, visualize and evaluate the economic and transportation opportunities provided by the many rivers in Minnesota. Personal accounts from three early settlers help learners uncover the...
    •  
    • Working drawing for Field House, Rochester, Minnesota

    • 1929
    • This architectural drawing illustrates the elevations and details of the athletic storage and dressing room building at Soldiers Field Park. This building was funded by Dr. E. Starr Judd to provide dressing facilities for the Rochester High School...
    • Olmsted County Historical Society
    • Winter view, Roseau, Minnesota

    • 1893
    • Winter view of Roseau in 1893. It is believed to be the first picture taken of Roseau. The winter stagecoach is loading people in front of the hotel. O. B. Ekman's Land Office is across the street and Lindberg's Store is the building with the...
    • Roseau County Historical Society
    • Winter scene, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1909
    • This photo of the St. Peter business district is dated February 9, 1909. A horse-drawn sleigh is visible as it goes northward on Minnesota Avenue. A portion of the sign of the Nutter Brothers Hardware Store, which was located on the 400 block of...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Winslow House, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1907 - 1918
    • This building was originally constructed in 1855 as the Winslow House in St. Peter. It has been used for several other purposes over the years. The building still stands, minus the original top floor, on the northwest corner of the intersection...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Winslow House, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1908?
    • This building was built by James M. Winslow in 1855 as a hotel in St. Peter. The building has had many owners over the years. It served as a hospital during the Dakota Conflict in 1862 and as the first location of the St. Peter State Hospital. ...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Winslow House, St. Anthony Falls, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    •  
    • Exterior view of the the Winslow House. Built 1857 on the east bank of St. Anthony Falls, Winslow House was orginally a hotel for Southern tourists. It was leased by Edward Neill for $1,200 per year to house the Baldwin School, the preparatory...
    • Macalester College
    • Winslow House, St. Anthony Falls, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    •  
    • Exterior view of the the Winslow House. Built 1857 on the east bank of St. Anthony Falls, Winslow House was orginally a hotel for Southern tourists. It was leased by Edward Neill for $1,200 per year to house the Baldwin School, the preparatory...
    • Macalester College
    • Winona and Southwestern train from Spring Valley to Winona, Minnesota

    • 1890-12-30
    • The Winona and Southwestern Railway train is pictured moving over a trestle bridge on it's way from Spring Valley to Winona. In 1890, tracks were laid from Winona through St. Charles, Dover, Eyota, Simpson and Stewartville to Spring Valley and...
    • Olmsted County Historical Society
    • Winona & Saint Peter Railway bond, Borough of Saint Peter, Minnesota

    • 1871-03-04
    • Dated the fourth day of March in 1871, this bond was issued by the Borough of Saint Peter in order to raise money to finance the construction of the Winona & Saint Peter Railroad. The value of the bond at maturity was five hundreds dollars. The...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Catalog of the Whitney Window Corporation, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1915?
    • Illustrated catalog featuring homes and buildings fitted with Whitney Windows, producers of casement windows that open out. Minneapolis residences include those of architect W.G. Purcell, Professor E.W. Olmsted, W.B. Chandler, Karl DeLaittre, B.M....
    • Hennepin County Library, James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library
    • Windom School in Windom, Minnesota

    • 1888
    • An exterior view of Windom School on Tenth Street and Sixth Avenue. It was originally built in 1888. The addition was built in 1893.
    • Cottonwood County Historical Society
    • Windom Co-op Gas Station, Windom, Minnesota

    • 1940?
    • Exterior of the Windom Co-op gas station. Small brick building with two gas pumps located at 812 Fourth Avenue. Today it is the Cottonwood County Historical Society.
    • Cottonwood County Historical Society
    • Windmill, Kandiyohi County, Minnesota

    • 1890 - 1915
    • Photo of the baase of a windmill. In the backround you can see a man holding a pole or some other object. The man appears to be standing on something but its hard to make out what it is. There are three or four mules by the man. Images in this...
    • Kandiyohi County Historical Society
    • Willis Hall and chimes, Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota

    • 1943?
    • Colorchrome postcard of a rear view of Willis Hall on the Carleton College campus with Burton Hall and Sayles-Hill Gymnasium also visible. Portion of handwritten text on the back reads "this is one of the not so new buildings on campus here. Chimes...
    • Carleton College Archives
    • Williams Block, Baudette, Minnesota

    • 1911
    • Glass lantern slide of the Williams Block on Main Avenue, a large post-fire commercial building; it occupied nearly half a city block and housed three stores, a series of offices, five apartments and a library.
    • Lake of the Woods County Historical Society
    • William Rinkel general store, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1888?
    • This photo shows the William Rinkel general store in St. Peter. It was located on the west side of the 100 block of South Minnesota Avenue. Several members of the Rinkel family appear in front of the building, including Mrs. Wm. Sr., G. H., W....
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • William H. Taft visit, Shakopee, Minnesota

    • 1911-10-24
    • A group of men await the arrival of President William Taft outside of the Shakopee Depot. The platform they are standing on is decorated with American flags, a map of the city, beverages from Rahr Malting, and stalks of corn. It is surrounded by...
    • Scott County Historical Society
    • William Crooks locomotive, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1934
    • The William Crooks was the first locomotive to operate in Minnesota. Constructed in 1861, it provided service a year later for the Saint Paul and Pacific Railroad, a company that eventually became part of the Great Northern Railway. James J....
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • William Crooks locomotive, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1938
    • The William Crooks was the first locomotive to operate in Minnesota. Constructed in 1861, it arrived on a river barge in Saint Paul. It provided service in 1862 for the Saint Paul and Pacific Railroad, a company that eventually became part of the...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • William Crooks locomotive, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1938
    • The William Crooks was the first locomotive to operate in Minnesota. Constructed in 1861, it first provided service a year later for the Saint Paul and Pacific Railroad, a company that eventually became part of the Great Northern Railway. James...
    • New Brighton Area Historical Society
    • Will S. Pitt Building, Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Will S. Pitt Building was built on Main Street in Crosby, Minnesota, in 1914. Here it houses the Crosby Crucible newspaper, Will S. Pitt Real Estate, and the First State Bank.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • Original Will of Jane T. Harrison, Hennepin County, Minnesota

    • 1886
    • Original will of Jane T. Harrison, co-founder of the Jones-Harrison Residence, which was established in 1888 by the Woman's Christian Association. The Jones-Harrison Residenced is believed to be Minnesota's longest continuously operating home to...
    • Jones-Harrison Residence
    • Wholesale District of Duluth, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1924
    • In the foreground is the wholesale district on the waterfront of the Duluth harbor. In the background are grain elevators. In this photo, Michigan Street is at the far right in front of the Union Depot. Railroad Street is parallel to Michigan...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Apollo Club program, December 26, 1896

    • 1896-12-26
    • Apollo Club program for first concert of second season, at the Lyceum Theatre. Program lists officers, board of directors, membership committee, concert committee, members of the club by singing part, a list of songs performed, lyrics, and a list...
    • Hennepin County Library, James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library
    • Wheeler Field and Wade Stadium, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1973-05-19
    • View of Wheeler Field in the foreground and Wade Municipal All Sports Stadium in the middleground and the coal dock in the background. Wade is at 101 North 35th Avenue West was dedicated July 16, 1941. It was renamed Wade Municipal Stadium February...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Westport Church, Westport Township, Minnesota

    • 1953
    • Westport Church built in 1870, razed 1955. The church was built by popular subscription and was used by various denominations - Presbyterian, Methodist, Lutheran. By 1915 it was associated with the Villard Methodist Church. The building was also...
    • Pope County Historical Society
    • Western Steel Products Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • Western Steel advertised its Western Steel Buildings for protection against fire and weather. It manufactured fire escapes and sheet metal products. It was located at the southwest corner of Prescott and Commonwealth Avenue.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • West side of Main Street, Hendricks, Minnesota

    • 1920
    • Four of these buildings remain today, looking much as they did in this picture. The building at the south end is under construction. It was the creamery. Today it is being renovated to be used as a brewery.
    • Lincoln County Historical Society
    • West Madison Street during the 1965 flood, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1965
    • People are inspecting the damage done to West Madison Street in St. Peter at the time of the 1965 flood. This water came from the west, not from the Minnesota River. It was diverted from Sunrise Drive to the Recreation Field shown here in the...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • West Madison Street during the 1965 flood, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1965
    • During the 1965 flood, water diverted from Sunrise Drive in St. Peter is shown flowing along West Madison Street toward the Recreation Field on the east side of North Fifth Street. It then made its way to the Minnesota River. The building beyond...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Wenstrom Furniture Store, St. James, Minnesota

    • 1905
    • Interior view of the first Furniture store in St. James. It faced west in the middle of the block, opposite the hospital. Owned by the Wenstrom family.
    • Watonwan County Historical Center

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK