Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Pedestrians
(323 results)



Display: 50

    • Superior Street, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1905?
    • View of second avenue west and Superior street buildings on upper side of street; pedestrians; streetcar; George A. Gray Company became Wahl department store
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Front Street, Mankato, Minnesota

    • 1890?
    • View of Front Street incluidng buildings, horses, buggies and pedestrians.
    • Blue Earth County Historical Society
    • Front Street, Mankato, Minnesota

    • 1890?
    • View of Front Street including businesses and pedestrians. C. Walz dealer in wines and liquor is visible.
    • Blue Earth County Historical Society
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fourth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are St. Louis Hotel 318-322 West Superior Street, the Torrey office building 314...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from First Avenue West toward Lake Avenue. These are the businesses and buildings on the north or upper side of Superior Street. In sequence from the left are Oreck's clothing at 29-31 West Superior Street,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fifth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are Spalding Hotel, the Manhattan office building 412-418 West Superior Street,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1931-05-24
    • View of businesses on West Superior Street looking east from the upper side of Fourth Avenue West. The St. Louis Hotel is at 318-322. The Alworth office building is the tallest. The hotel was purchased in 1930 by Royal D. Alworth (head of Oneida...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Unpaved street, Virginia, Minnesota

    • 1900 - 1910
    • View of an unpaved street in Virginia, featuring streetlights, pedestrians, and horses.
    • Iron Range Research Center
    • View of row apartments, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1890?
    • View of 5 unit row apartments on eighth avenue east below fourth street; pedestrians; woman and baby on stoop
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Canal Park, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1972-09
    • View from the top of the Aerial Lift Bridge looking over Canal Park toward Duluth's hillside taking in a vista to Leif Erikson Park. Pedestrians could ride on the lift span of the Aerial Bridge for a short time in the late 1960s for fifty cents. ...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • The Flash, July 25, 1936

    • 1936-07-25
    • Newsletter of a Civilian Conservation Corps camp in Caledonia, Minnesota.
    • Minnesota Historical Society
    • Leif Erikson Park Fill Along Sidewalk, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932
    • This is a clear view of the park bridge entrance from the London Road sidewalk. A fence protects pedestrians from the railroad tracks crossed by the bridge. Lakeshore Park was renamed Leif Erikson Park 1929.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • First National Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915 - 1920
    • This bank was built in 1887. The American Exchange merged with First National Bank and was renamed First and American National Bank in 1929. You can see the bronze plaque with this name on the corner of the building. It became First American...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater entrance, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1926?
    • The Traphagen and Fitzpatrick designed Lyceum Theater was on the corner of Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street. Built in 1890, opened in 1891, it featured plays, vaudeville, and moving pictures. It closed in 1960 and was razed in 1966.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Sunbeam Theatre, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • The Sunbeam Theater was located at 109 West Superior Street beginning in 1908. The silent film "Highbrow Love" was out in 1913. In 1922 the motion picture theater the Astor took that address, and the Sunbeam moved to 103 West Superior Street where...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Northwestern Fuel Company Office, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914
    • The sculpted details are at the entrance of the Palladio building in downtown Duluth at the corner of Fourth Avenue West and Superior Street. Northwestern Fuel sold coal, coke, and wood from their office at 403 West Superior Street. The 1889...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • People's State Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Peoples State Bank dates from 1920. It is located at 1336 Commonwealth Avenue. In 1890, Peoples Saving Bank was a Zar D. Scott and Roger Munger bank in the Palladio building. The Peoples became Central State Bank.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • New Grand Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914?
    • The New Grand theater at 213 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,025. The building was occupied by the Lyric motion picture theater beginning in 1922 that showed films into the 1970s. The entire block was razed in 1976 for the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Medical Arts Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1950?
    • The Medical Arts building was built in 1932 at 324 West Superior Street where the St. Louis Hotel had stood.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyric Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1939?
    • The Lyric Theater at 213-217 West Superior Street is also known as the New Lyric. It had a seating capacity of 1,025. It offered vaudeville followed by first run motion pictures, amateur shows every Saturday evening. It was razed in the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1940
    • The Lyceum Theater was designed by Oliver G. Traphagen of the Traphagen and Fitzpatrick firm in Duluth. It was built in 1890 and opened August 4, 1891 with "Mr. Wilkinson's Widows". It seated 1,500 people. It closed in November 1960, and was...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900 - 1910
    • The Lyceum Theater at 423 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,281 for operas, plays, and vaudeville until 1921 when it was a movie house. Built in 1891 with lumberman Andreas M. Miller financing, it stood until torn down in January...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: At the Foot of the Lift Bridge, Canal Park, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1973-06-14
    • The lift span is up as pedestrians walk along the north side of the Ship Canal. Behind the bridge footings is the home office of Jeno's Inc, 525 Lake Avenue South, now known as the Paulucci Building.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Grand Bakery, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • The Johnson family's bakery at 434-436 North Fifty-seventh Avenue West.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Laying steam pipes, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-07-28
    • The Duluth Steam Corporation's workers are laying new steam pipes below Superior Street. Jackhammers and workers work all spring and summer. This is a view looking west from Second Avenue West and Superior Street. Gassers grocery and meats is at...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Laying steam pipes, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-07-28
    • The Duluth Steam Corporation's workers are laying new steam pipes below Superior Street. Jackhammers and workers work all spring and summer. This is a view looking west from First Avenue West and Superior Street. The tall building at the top left...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Laying steam pipes, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-06-21
    • The Duluth Steam Corporation's workers are laying new steam pipes below Superior Street. Jackhammers and workers work all spring and summer. This is a view looking east from the intersection of Lake Avenue and Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Laying steam pipes, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-04-25
    • The Duluth Steam Corporation's workers are laying new steam pipes below Superior Street. Jackhammers and workers work all spring and summer. The Savolainen Jewelry Company is on the corner of Lake Avenue and Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Laying steam pipes, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-05-11
    • The Duluth Steam Corporation's workers are laying new steam pipes below Superior Street and, here, up Lake Avenue. Jackhammers and workers work all spring and summer. The bricks or blocks of the street were removed to do the work and are lying...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth News Tribune, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1972
    • The Duluth Herald and the Duluth News Tribune grew out of the early newspapers. This is the current home of the Duluth News Tribunes' staff and production at 422-424 West First Street in downtown Duluth. At the time of its construction and...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Athletic Club after the fire, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1943-01-24
    • The Duluth Athletic Club building at 402 West First Street burned January 22, 1943. The Athletic Club moved temporarily to the Lexon Hotel and had the first street building rebuilt and remodeled in 1946-1947 by Harold D. Starin.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Intersection of Superior Street and Lake Avenue, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1937-08-05
    • The corner building is the 1888 Lowell block or the Pastoret Stenson block after the fire that resulted in removal of the top stories . The taller building next door with the Kodak sign at 3 West Superior Street was designed by Oliver Traphagen and...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Builders Exchange Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Berg Brothers Drapery Shop and Universal Electric Supply Company are on the street level of the Builders' Exchange office building at the corner of First Street and Lake Avenue North. In 1902, the Duluth Builders' Exchange incorporated. Local...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Builders Exchange Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Berg Brothers Drapery Shop and Universal Electric Supply Company are on the street level of the Builders' Exchange office building at the corner of First Street and Lake Avenue North. In 1902, the Duluth Builders' Exchange incorporated. Local...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View down Third Avenue West from Fourth Street, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1958
    • The 1893 First Methodist Episcopal church occupied the corner of Third Avenue West and Third Street in downtown Duluth until the congregation built the 1965 church building designed by architect Pietro Belluschi that everyone calls the Copper Top...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The $350,000 Spalding Hotel was built in 1887 at Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street. It opened in 1889, closed in the early 1960s and was razed in 1963.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Fourth Street and Fifth Avenue East, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • streetscene, intersection of 5th Avenue East and 4th street; pedestrians; vehicles; streetcar; signs
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK