Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: S2422
(119 results)



Display: 50

    • West Duluth Oneota School, Duluth, Minnesota

    •  
    • Brick Oneota school built in 1888 at 4420 West First Street; designed by architect Oliver Traphagen; the building also served as the Oneota Village Council Chambers before the village of Oneota became part of West Duluth; brick and brownstone with...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900 - 1910
    • The Lyceum Theater at 423 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,281 for operas, plays, and vaudeville until 1921 when it was a movie house. Built in 1891 with lumberman Andreas M. Miller financing, it stood until torn down in January...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Freimuth's Department Store, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910
    • Freimuth's was at the corner of Lake Avenue and West Superior Street. In 1900 the address of the dry goods store of Ignatz Freimuth was given as 2-10 West Superior Street. It was razed May, 1968.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Pharmacy, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910 - 1920
    • An unidentified Duluth pharmacy or drug store.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Sailboats in Duluth Harbor, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911-07
    • Sailboat racing on the harbor. The Duluth Boat Club was organized July 10, 1886. The original building was built in 1891 at the foot of Seventh Avenue West and the bay front. This, the second facility, was built in 1906 at 1000 Minnesota Avenue...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Sailboats in Duluth Harbor, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911-07
    • Sailboat racing on the harbor. The Duluth Boat Club was organized July 10, 1886. The original building was built in 1891 at the foot of Seventh Avenue West and the bay front. This, the second facility, was built in 1906 at 1000 Minnesota Avenue...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Log Rollers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911-07
    • Spectators watch log rollers in the bay. The Duluth Boat Club was organized July 10, 1886. The original building was built in 1891 at the foot of Seventh Avenue West and the bay front. This, the second facility, was built in 1906 at 1000...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Sailboats in Duluth Harbor, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911-07
    • Sailboat racing on the harbor with hundreds of spectators on hand. The Duluth Boat Club was organized July 10, 1886. The original building was built in 1891 at the foot of Seventh Avenue West and the bay front. This, the second facility, was...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Empress Theatre, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911?
    • Empress Theater, M. Bolin Millinery, St. Paul Cafe restaurant at 12 and 14 East Superior Street, the lower side, in downtown Duluth. The millinery shop is in the Brown Brothers Block. The Empress burned on May 3, 1915.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Auditorium, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911?
    • The 302 East First Street Auditorium building is operated as a roller skating rink. When the season opened in 1911, the opening night revenue was for the benefit of the Duluth Children's Home Society. The rink was managed by the L. Hammel...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Duluth Boat Club, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911?
    • The Duluth Boat Club was organized July 10, 1886. The original building was built in 1891 at the foot of Seventh Avenue West and the bay front. This, the second facility, was built in 1906 at 1000 Minnesota Avenue on the harbor side. This was a...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Intersection of Superior Street and First Avenue West, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913 - 1915
    • Hugh McKenzie was a principal Duluth photographer. McKenzie's studio was in this Seip Building or Smith Building 101 West Superior on the northwest corner. It was the last frame building in the main business district on Superior Street when it...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Passenger Vessel North American Outbound, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913-09
    • Passenger steamer North American of the Georgian Bay Line is steaming out of Duluth harbor leaving Duluth. There were many passenger ships and companies used similar names. This vessel had a partner named the South American; both were built in...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Garrick Theater Proscenium, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • The Rex Theater became the New Garrick in 1920. It was located at 16 North Second Avenue West. It was razed in 1956.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Sunbeam Theatre, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • The Sunbeam Theater was located at 109 West Superior Street beginning in 1908. The silent film "Highbrow Love" was out in 1913. In 1922 the motion picture theater the Astor took that address, and the Sunbeam moved to 103 West Superior Street where...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • New Grand Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914?
    • The New Grand theater at 213 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,025. The building was occupied by the Lyric motion picture theater beginning in 1922 that showed films into the 1970s. The entire block was razed in 1976 for the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: West Duluth, Leonidas Merritt house, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914?
    • West Duluth; Merritt House at 4603 Oneota; built by Leonidas Merritt in 1892; this house was later occupied by Alva and Ruth Merritt, Ruth was Leonidas' daughter; the building to the left and rear is an enlargement of Leonidas' office building also...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917 - 1920
    • Zenith Furnace Company opened in 1902. This complex eventually included a blast furnace, a coal dock, and sixty-five coke ovens located on eighty acres of land along St. Louis Bay. The company produced pig iron, was active in the wholesale coal...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • St. Louis Hotel Orchestra, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917 - 1920
    • The St. Louis Hotel at 218 West Superior Street was a major hotel in downtown Duluth. It featured a number of amenities including an orchestra in the Rose Garden room. There was a fire in 1917, but the Rose Garden continued for many years. These...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • National Iron Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917?
    • National Iron Company was at Fiftieth Avenue West and Ramsey Street. From 1898, it designed and manufactured heavy machinery and structural steel. It employed 190 workers in 1916 with a payroll of $96,000.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1918?
    • Block of Bon Ton Bakery at 25 West Superior Street to a portion of the Hunter block at the corner.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Tugboat "E. G. Maxwell," Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1919?
    • The Whitney Brothers ran a rock crushing business in the harbor.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • View of blast furnaces at this pig iron manufacturing site at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and the Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Zenith Furnace Company pig iron manufacturing plant was at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Hunter's Park, Washburn School, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Hunter's Park; Washburn School at 201 West St. Andrews Street was built in 1905 with additions in 1926 and 1957; Hunter's Park was named for John Hunter and Ronald Hunter; Glen Avon is named for the glens of Scotland and the river Avon of England...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Curling Club, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Duluth Curling Club was built at 1338 London Road in 1912-1913. The dedication included a game on February 22, 1913. It was a facility for roller and speed skating as well as ice skating and hockey. The facility was closed to use by 1979. It...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Zenith Furnace Company at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and the Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Northwestern Electric Equipment Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Northwestern Electric Equipment Company was a wholesale firm at 202-204 West Michigan Street. Michigan Street is below and parallel to Superior Street, a block nearer to Lake Superior.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • People's State Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Peoples State Bank dates from 1920. It is located at 1336 Commonwealth Avenue. In 1890, Peoples Saving Bank was a Zar D. Scott and Roger Munger bank in the Palladio building. The Peoples became Central State Bank.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Central Hillside, Emerson School, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Central Hillside; Emerson School 1028 West Third Street; this 12 room brick building by architect A. F. Rudolph was built in 1891; stone foundation; adults; children; power lines; telephone poles; trees; sidewalk; houses
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Dairy cows in stalls, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Duluth had dozens of families who operated small dairies. This dairy is unidentified.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: West Duluth, St. James Catholic Church, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • West Duluth; St. James Catholic Church; bell tower; brick building; architectural details; 721 North Fifty-seventh Avenue west; fifty-seventh Avenue west and Kinnear Place; houses; sidewalk; streetcar tracks; stained glass windows; landscaping;...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Wholesale District of Duluth, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1924
    • In the foreground is the wholesale district on the waterfront of the Duluth harbor. In the background are grain elevators. In this photo, Michigan Street is at the far right in front of the Union Depot. Railroad Street is parallel to Michigan...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Minnesota Power and Light Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1924?
    • Minnesota Power's building at 30 west Superior Street. Lams and lights are featured in the window display. The company is an operating public utility engaged in generation, purchase, transmission, distribution, and sale of electric energy in...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fourth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are St. Louis Hotel 318-322 West Superior Street, the Torrey office building 314...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from First Avenue West toward Lake Avenue. These are the businesses and buildings on the north or upper side of Superior Street. In sequence from the left are Oreck's clothing at 29-31 West Superior Street,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fifth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are Spalding Hotel, the Manhattan office building 412-418 West Superior Street,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Spalding Hotel with Bridge, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925-09
    • Most photographs of downtown Duluth will also capture the Aerial Bridge, and so it is with this image of Superior Street at Fifth Avenue West. The Spalding hotel was completed in June 1889. It was razed in the summer of 1963 along with many other...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • View of three adjacent businesses: Arrowhead Cafeteria at 219 West Superior Street, Victor Huot French Confectioner at 217, and the edge of the Lyric Theater with its stained glass windows at 213 West Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Swift and Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • Swift Premium hams and bacon company building is located at 232 West Michigan Street in downtown Duluth.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aftenro Home, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • The Aftenro Society was organized in 1908 by a group of Norwegian women to raise money for the construction of a good Christian old people's home. Their first building was opened in 1921 with 30 residents and was named for the Norwegian word...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aftenro Home, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • The Aftenro Society was organized in 1908 by a group of Norwegian women to raise money for the construction of a good Christian old people's home. Their first building was opened in 1921 with 30 residents and was named for the Norwegian word...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • General Outdoor Advertising Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • General Outdoor Advertising is a sign manufacturer located at 2304 West Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater entrance, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1926?
    • The Traphagen and Fitzpatrick designed Lyceum Theater was on the corner of Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street. Built in 1890, opened in 1891, it featured plays, vaudeville, and moving pictures. It closed in 1960 and was razed in 1966.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Builders Exchange Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Berg Brothers Drapery Shop and Universal Electric Supply Company are on the street level of the Builders' Exchange office building at the corner of First Street and Lake Avenue North. In 1902, the Duluth Builders' Exchange incorporated. Local...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Northern National Bank Trust Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Trust Company window is displaying the Duluth Winter Frolic queen contest promotion. There were Winter Frolics in the years 1926-1929.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Builders Exchange Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Berg Brothers Drapery Shop and Universal Electric Supply Company are on the street level of the Builders' Exchange office building at the corner of First Street and Lake Avenue North. In 1902, the Duluth Builders' Exchange incorporated. Local...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK