Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: S2422
(119 results)



Display: 50

    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fourth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are St. Louis Hotel 318-322 West Superior Street, the Torrey office building 314...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Hotel McKay, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1940
    • The McKay brothers Hotel McKay was built in 1899 at Fifth Avenue West and First Street, just up the hill from the railroad depots.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Hemlock Exchange, Northwestern Bell Telephone Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1935?
    • The Hemlock Exchange building is at 1806 East First Street. In 1918 Northwestern Telephone Exchange Company purchased the plant of Duluth and Zenith Companies. There was a name change to Northwestern Bell Telephone Company in 1921. The building...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Swift and Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • Swift Premium hams and bacon company building is located at 232 West Michigan Street in downtown Duluth.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Arrowhead Hotel, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1928?
    • Arrowhead Hotel building is at 225 North First Avenue West. The building still stands.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Bradley Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-04-21
    • Retail and office building at 10 East Superior Street or the corner of Lake Avenue and Superior Street. Stories were added in 1924 to total four. It was razed in the summer of 1979.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Fire at Diana Tea Rooms, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1936 - 1939
    • The Diana Tea Rooms was a short lived business at 228 West First Street in downtown Duluth. The initial proprietors were Christ Karas and Thomas Logan in 1936. Mr. Karas remains with the business until 1939. In 1940, another restaurant is at...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater entrance, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1926?
    • The Traphagen and Fitzpatrick designed Lyceum Theater was on the corner of Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street. Built in 1890, opened in 1891, it featured plays, vaudeville, and moving pictures. It closed in 1960 and was razed in 1966.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Breaking Ground for Duluth Steam Plant, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-03-02
    • Built in 1932, the steam plant in Canal Park is a Duluth landmark. Plans for the plant dated from 1929. In 2010, the coal-fired plant is owned by the city of Duluth and operated by the Duluth Steam Cooperative Association, an association of 225...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Universal Flour Plant, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1937
    • This flour mill was located at the foot of South Twelfth Avenue West or 1212 West Railroad Street. Founded about 1900, it went out of business in 1958. The mill's offices were in the downtown Board of Trade building.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyric Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1939?
    • The Lyric Theater at 213-217 West Superior Street is also known as the New Lyric. It had a seating capacity of 1,025. It offered vaudeville followed by first run motion pictures, amateur shows every Saturday evening. It was razed in the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Steam Plant Construction, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1939
    • There is still a bit of scaffolding at the top of the smoke stack of the Duluth Steam Plant.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Garrick Theater Proscenium, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • The Rex Theater became the New Garrick in 1920. It was located at 16 North Second Avenue West. It was razed in 1956.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Zenith Furnace Company pig iron manufacturing plant was at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Zenith Furnace Company at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and the Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • St. Louis Hotel Orchestra, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917 - 1920
    • The St. Louis Hotel at 218 West Superior Street was a major hotel in downtown Duluth. It featured a number of amenities including an orchestra in the Rose Garden room. There was a fire in 1917, but the Rose Garden continued for many years. These...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1940
    • The Lyceum Theater was designed by Oliver G. Traphagen of the Traphagen and Fitzpatrick firm in Duluth. It was built in 1890 and opened August 4, 1891 with "Mr. Wilkinson's Widows". It seated 1,500 people. It closed in November 1960, and was...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Spalding Hotel with Bridge, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925-09
    • Most photographs of downtown Duluth will also capture the Aerial Bridge, and so it is with this image of Superior Street at Fifth Avenue West. The Spalding hotel was completed in June 1889. It was razed in the summer of 1963 along with many other...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Steam Plant Construction, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932-06-20
    • New Duluth steam plant is under construction. It was planned from 1929, but took time to be realized. The central plant distributes steam to more than 200 buildings from 7th Avenue West to 11th Avenue East, from Canal Park to Fourth Street in...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Athletic Club after the fire, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1943-01-24
    • The Duluth Athletic Club building at 402 West First Street burned January 22, 1943. The Athletic Club moved temporarily to the Lexon Hotel and had the first street building rebuilt and remodeled in 1946-1947 by Harold D. Starin.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • View of blast furnaces at this pig iron manufacturing site at South Fifty-eighth Avenue West and the Northern Pacific Railway tracks.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Sunbeam Theatre, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • The Sunbeam Theater was located at 109 West Superior Street beginning in 1908. The silent film "Highbrow Love" was out in 1913. In 1922 the motion picture theater the Astor took that address, and the Sunbeam moved to 103 West Superior Street where...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Builders Exchange Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927?
    • The Berg Brothers Drapery Shop and Universal Electric Supply Company are on the street level of the Builders' Exchange office building at the corner of First Street and Lake Avenue North. In 1902, the Duluth Builders' Exchange incorporated. Local...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Curling Club, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • The Duluth Curling Club was built at 1338 London Road in 1912-1913. The dedication included a game on February 22, 1913. It was a facility for roller and speed skating as well as ice skating and hockey. The facility was closed to use by 1979. It...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Steam Plant Construction, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932
    • The Duluth Steam Corporations steam plant was built by many hardworking men, some are visible, in 1932 from March through the summer and autumn. It is frequently in photographs when the view is toward the canal or Canal Park area, and is identified...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Zenith Furnace, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917 - 1920
    • Zenith Furnace Company opened in 1902. This complex eventually included a blast furnace, a coal dock, and sixty-five coke ovens located on eighty acres of land along St. Louis Bay. The company produced pig iron, was active in the wholesale coal...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Steam Plant Construction, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1932
    • The Duluth Steam Corporations steam plant was built by many hardworking men in 1932 from March through the summer and autumn. It is frequently in photographs when the view is toward the canal or Canal Park area, and is identified by its smoke...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Central Hillside, Weather Bureau building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1935?
    • Central Hillside; Weather Bureau building was built in 1904 and served until February 1950; the address has changed though the building was not moved 631 W Seventh Street; 631 Skyline Parkway; the address from March 1950 to October 1959 was 705...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Tug Boats in the harbor, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • Marine Iron and Shipbuilding Company launches including one named Prairie State. During WWII, the company installed the piping in 30 vessels built by Zenith Dredge company of Duluth. A tugboat (tug) is a boat that maneuvers vessels by pushing or...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • New Grand Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914?
    • The New Grand theater at 213 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,025. The building was occupied by the Lyric motion picture theater beginning in 1922 that showed films into the 1970s. The entire block was razed in 1976 for the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Central Hillside Cascade Hotel, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • Central Hillside; Cascade Hotel 101 West Third Street; brick building with neon sign at its corner; window boxes with flowers; summer; trees; cars; sidewalks; street; buildings
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Superior Street Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • This is the lower side of Superior street between Third Avenue West on the left and approaching Fourth Avenue West on the right. The buildings left to right are Lonsdale at 300, Alworth at 306-308, Siewart's 310, Irving Moore Memorial 312, Torrey...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900 - 1910
    • The Lyceum Theater at 423 West Superior Street had a seating capacity of 1,281 for operas, plays, and vaudeville until 1921 when it was a movie house. Built in 1891 with lumberman Andreas M. Miller financing, it stood until torn down in January...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: East Hillside, Bethesda Norwegian Lutheran Church, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1937-10
    • Central Hillside; Bethesda Norwegian Lutheran Church interior; became Bethesda Evangelical Lutheran church; 531 East Fifth Street; altar; painted altarpiece; candelabra; hardwood floor; pulpit; pews; ceiling light; stained glass windows; baptismal...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Bridge: Passenger Vessel North American Outbound, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913-09
    • Passenger steamer North American of the Georgian Bay Line is steaming out of Duluth harbor leaving Duluth. There were many passenger ships and companies used similar names. This vessel had a partner named the South American; both were built in...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Newspaper Guild strike, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1938-05-28
    • Police use tear gas against massed pickets during the Newspaper Guild Strike. The gas is on First Street near Fifth Avenue West across from the Civic Center.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Empress Theatre, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1911?
    • Empress Theater, M. Bolin Millinery, St. Paul Cafe restaurant at 12 and 14 East Superior Street, the lower side, in downtown Duluth. The millinery shop is in the Brown Brothers Block. The Empress burned on May 3, 1915.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Central Hillside, Lincoln Hotel, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1935?
    • Central Hillside; Lincoln Hotel 309-315 West Second street; brick building; architectural details; lamps on cornice; signs; exterior sconces; painted on building Rates $1.25 Up; cars; sign Beauty Parlor; beauty shop sign in window; buildings;...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1942?
    • Second Avenue West and Superior Street looking west.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lakeside Lester Park house on London Road, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • Lakeside Lester Park; House 4640 London Road; Robert Congdon house; driveway up to porte-cochere; car; brick with tile roof; chimneys; landscaping; dormers; porch; sidewalk; shrubs; summer; trees
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • West Duluth, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1928-12-16
    • This is a view of Seventy First Avenue West and Grand Avenue. The Fairmont Park loop allows streetcars to turn around. Fairmont Park is home to the Duluth zoo. At the far right is a neighborhood grocery store.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1918?
    • Block of Bon Ton Bakery at 25 West Superior Street to a portion of the Hunter block at the corner.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • National Iron Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1917?
    • National Iron Company was at Fiftieth Avenue West and Ramsey Street. From 1898, it designed and manufactured heavy machinery and structural steel. It employed 190 workers in 1916 with a payroll of $96,000.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK