Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Spalding
(321 results)



Display: 50

    • Aerial Bridge: Spalding Hotel with Bridge, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925-09
    • Most photographs of downtown Duluth will also capture the Aerial Bridge, and so it is with this image of Superior Street at Fifth Avenue West. The Spalding hotel was completed in June 1889. It was razed in the summer of 1963 along with many other...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Colorized View of Duluth Canal and Hillside, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1963?
    • View of a lake vessel in the canal entering the Duluth harbor. There are a number of sites visible where rubble is evident as Duluth razes older structures to make way for new construction. Canal Park is evolving from a light industrial...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Downtown Duluth and Harbor from the Hillside, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1962?
    • View over downtown Duluth from Skyline Drive or the Parkway. Skyline Parkway extends from Becks Road east to the Lester River, ending at Lake Superior. The road skirts the ridge line of Duluth, though portions extend into Proctor and Midway...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Downtown Duluth and Minnesota Point, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1962?
    • A vessel enters the harbor in this view of downtown Duluth and Minnesota Point. Fifth Avenue West runs directly from the St. Louis County Courthouse to the waterfront in the lower right corner of this image. At Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Duluth Business District and Canal Park, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1975?
    • Northern City National Bank's NC sign was placed on top of the Alworth building in 1957 where the bank occupied the Alworth's main floor. The sign was permanently removed in 1980 when a bank merger resulted in the new First Bank. The Alworth is...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Apollo Club program, December 26, 1896

    • 1896-12-26
    • Apollo Club program for first concert of second season, at the Lyceum Theatre. Program lists officers, board of directors, membership committee, concert committee, members of the club by singing part, a list of songs performed, lyrics, and a list...
    • Hennepin County Library, James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library
    • Construction of Union Depot, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1891-07
    • Duluth's Union Depot at Fifth Avenue West and Michigan Street still stands as a rehabilitated and reused historic building called St. Louis County Heritage and Arts Center. Here it is under construction in 1891. In 1890 the Northern Pacific and...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Construction site of Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1890
    • Ground was broken for the Lyceum Theater at the northwest corner of Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street on June 1, 1890 across from the Spalding Hotel.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown looking east from about Tenth Avenue west, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1889?
    • Downtown from about tenth avenue west looking east; Superior street; street railway car barn; Spalding; horse drawn streetcar; double streetcar tracks; people; coal docks; Kelley Island Lime and Transfer; see 332
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown looking east, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1893
    • View looking east from first street and fifth avenue west; Lyceum; Spalding; laundry hanging; boy; houses
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown Superior Street, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913
    • Superior street looking east from 6th avenue west; Alworth; Spalding, Saratoga, Nicollet, Grace, Sixth Avenue hotels; streetcar; horse wagon
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown Superior Street, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1913
    • Superior street looking east from 6th avenue west; Alworth; Spalding, Saratoga, Nicollet, Grace, Sixth Avenue hotels; streetcar; horse wagon
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • The $350,000 Spalding Hotel was built in 1887 at Fifth Avenue West and Superior Street. It opened in 1889, closed in the early 1960s and was razed in 1963.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925
    • View of downtown Duluth looking east from Fifth Avenue West. These are the businesses and buildings on the south side of Superior Street. In sequence from the right are Spalding Hotel, the Manhattan office building 412-418 West Superior Street,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1888?
    • Looking east from the waterfront over Railroad street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Dry Goods Store, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1884?
    • Exterior view of the W. W. Spalding dry goods store on Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Atlas of Cottonwood County Minnesota and the World, 1926

    • 1926
    • Hardcover book containing plat maps of the townships of Cottonwood County, Farmer's Directory, and advertising of the leading buinesses in the county. Also has maps of the United States and World in back.
    • Cottonwood County Historical Society
    • Fitger Employee Banquet, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1948-05
    • Party given by Fitger's Brewery president John B. Beerhalter for Fitger's employees at the Spalding Hotel.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Frerker Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • the Frerker Building, built about 1902 by Theodore and Frank Frerker for their wholesale and retail liquor business at 418-420 W Superior. The Frerker is the building between the Manhattan on left and the Spalding Hotel on the right.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Bulletin Villa Sancta Scholastica College and Academy, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915
    • The College of St. Scholastica Bulletin is a booklet 13 pages in length published by the College under the direction of the Sisters of Saint Benedict for young women and girls explaining the College's foundation and aim, location, telephone and...
    • The College of St. Scholastica
    • College of Saint Scholastica Bulletin, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • The College of St. Scholastica Bulletin is a booklet 14 pages in length published by the College under the direction of the Sisters of Saint Benedict for young women and girls explaining the College's courses; foundation and aim; location;...
    • The College of St. Scholastica
    • Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota

    • 1940?
    • Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota, looking west shows on the left the Desoto Plymouth dealer with a gas pump outside, the Coast to Coast Hardware store, a drug store and many more businesses. On the right is the Spalding Hotel and Art's Fixit Shop.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota

    • 1932
    • This view of Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota, is looking west. On the left is the Desoto Plymouth dealer with gas pump in front. Next to it is the Red Owl Store, a bakery and a beauty shop. Across the street is the Spalding Hotel with the Dutch Room.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota

    • 1918?
    • This postcard of Main Street, Crosby, Minnesota, shows the Spalding Hotel to the right and cars lining the street.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • Michigan Street businesses, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915 - 1920
    • Looking east from Michigan street and Sixth Avenue West. The Union Depot is at the right. Hotel Columbia is across the street with its awnings extended.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • New Commercial Hotel, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1889?
    • Buildings surrounding The New Commercial Hotel of John M Caplis at south fifth avenue west; Spalding; Manhattan tower; Union Depot
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • The Mankatonian, Volume 7, Issue 8, February 1898

    • 1898-02
    • The Mankatonian was a monthly magazine published by the students at the Mankato State Normal School from 1891-1913. It was published during the school year and a few summer sessions and included: summaries of school activities (sports, clubs,...
    • University Archives, Memorial Library, Minnesota State University, Mankato
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter, Volume III, Number 40

    • 1915-02-27
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter is an international mining trade publication. It began as a weekly publication in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1912. It changed its name to Skillings' Mining Review in July 1916 (dropping the apostrophe in 1993). ...
    • Iron Range Research Center
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter, Volume III, Number 5

    • 1914-06-27
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter is an international mining trade publication. It began as a weekly publication in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1912. It changed its name to Skillings' Mining Review in July 1916 (dropping the apostrophe in 1993). ...
    • Iron Range Research Center
    • Bulletin of The College of St. Scholastica, 1928-1929

    • 1928
    • The College of St. Scholastica Bulletin is a catalog 80 pages in length with an 8-page insert, published by the College, which is conducted by the Sisters of Saint Benedict of Duluth, Minnesota, for young women and girls. The Bulletin includes one...
    • The College of St. Scholastica
    • Spruce Lake Splash, May 18, 1941

    • 1941-05-18
    • Newsletter of a Civilian Conservation Corps camp in Two Harbors, Minnesota.
    • Minnesota Historical Society
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter, Volume III, Number 35

    • 1915-01-23
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter is an international mining trade publication. It began as a weekly publication in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1912. It changed its name to Skillings' Mining Review in July 1916 (dropping the apostrophe in 1993). ...
    • Iron Range Research Center
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter, Volume IV, Number 4

    • 1915-06-19
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter is an international mining trade publication. It began as a weekly publication in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1912. It changed its name to Skillings' Mining Review in July 1916 (dropping the apostrophe in 1993). ...
    • Iron Range Research Center
    • Skillings' Mining Review, Volume VI, Number 41

    • 1918-03-02
    • Skillings' Mining and Market Letter is an international mining trade publication. It began as a weekly publication in Duluth, Minnesota, in 1912. It changed its name to Skillings' Mining Review in July 1916 (dropping the apostrophe in 1993). ...
    • Iron Range Research Center

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK