Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: originally
(1758 results)



Display: 50

    • Adath Jeshurun confirmation class, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1947
    • Confirmation students in graduation dress, posed with their teacher at Adath Jeshurun. Confirmation is a coming of age practice for post Bar and Bat Mitzvahs. It was originally developed by the Reform movement to follow bar- and bat-mitzvahs in the...
    • University of Minnesota Libraries, Nathan and Theresa Berman Upper Midwest Jewish Archives
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Aerial View from Lake Superior, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1970?
    • An ore boat is steaming through the canal into Duluth harbor. The canal was cut beginning in 1871, and this bridge was built in 1904-1905 and modified with the lift span (which is up in this photo) in 1929. Canal Park is to the right of the Aerial...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Inner Light Tower and South Bridge Tower, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1973-06-14
    • Formally known as the South Breakwater Inner Light Tower this 67 foot tall structure, seen here next to the south tower of the Aerial Lift Bridge, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The light was first lit in 1901. Originally...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: Interstate Bridge With The Span Open, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1963-05-19
    • The Interstate Bridge between Duluth and Superior, originally called the "Duluth-Superior Bridge", was owned by the Great Northern railroad but never used by them. It was used by the Soo Line from 1909 until its closure in December 1961 when the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View from the Arena Auditorium, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1966-08
    • The Aerial Lift Bridge is highlighted in this view from the windows of the Duluth Arena Auditorium. The lift span is up providing a view of the South Breakwater Inner Light Tower. The tower is listed on the National Register of Historic Places....
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial Lift Bridge: View of Speedboat in the Harbor, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1950?
    • The Duluth Yacht Club provided Scenic Rides. The Duluth Yacht Basin on the bayside of Park Point or Minnesota Point, near Tenth Avenue, was originally owned by Julius Barnes. It was subsequently owned by A. B. Hargrave. Hargrave sold it to the...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Atlas of Cottonwood County Minnesota and the World, 1926

    • 1926
    • Hardcover book containing plat maps of the townships of Cottonwood County, Farmer's Directory, and advertising of the leading buinesses in the county. Also has maps of the United States and World in back.
    • Cottonwood County Historical Society
    • An Illustrated Historical Atlas of the State of Minnesota

    • 1874
    • 1 atlas (394 p.), illustrated, maps (part colored), portraits, 46 cm. MHS reserve copy originally purchased in 1874 by Christian Schrade of Lakeland, Minnesota. In 1981 it was donated to MHS by Myrtle P. Schrade, a descendant of Christian Schrade.
    • Minnesota Historical Society
    • Arts and Heritage Center in St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1997?
    • Originally constructed in 1870 as the first high school, this building was used in later years as the Arts and Heritage Center until its destruction by a March 1998 tornado in St. Peter, Minnesota. The building was located at 320 South Fifth...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Arts and Heritage Center tornado damage in 1998 in St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1998
    • The remains of the Arts and Heritage Center at 320 South Fifth Street are visible at the far right after a tornado damaged many structures in March of 1998 in St. Peter, Minnesota. The building in the background was then being used as the Community...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Arts and Heritage Center tornado damage in 1998 in St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1998
    • The Arts and Heritage Center, originally constructed in 1870 as the city's first high school, was destroyed by a tornado in March of 1998 in St. Peter, Minnesota. It was located on the northwest corner of the intersection of South Fifth and West...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • B.E. Berg home, Lincoln County, Minnesota

    • 1910 - 1920
    • Originally this house was built in Ash Lake Township. In 1889, it was moved to Shaokatan Township. Six children were raised in this house. Every one is lined up outside the house with many of the other farm buildings in the background.
    • Lincoln County Historical Society
    • B'nai Brith Youth Organization sleigh ride, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1957
    • A group of young men and women sitting and standing on a large sleigh. B'nai Brith Youth Organization was comprised of A. Z. A., a young men's fraternity, and B. B. G., the young women's counterpart to A. Z. A. Both were founded in response to...
    • University of Minnesota Libraries, Nathan and Theresa Berman Upper Midwest Jewish Archives
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 11 - Northeast Minnesota, Ely and Boundary Waters Area

    • 1981
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 11 Northeast Minnesota" contains: a map index; a list of county, municipal, and state parks, national and state forests, and state rest areas covered in the map; a "potpourri" article; an inset map of...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 26 - East Central Minnesota, Sandstone Area

    • 1980
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 26 - East Central Minnesota" contains a legend of signs and symbols, the larger bikeways map, and the map index. The back side contains: a list of county, municipal, federal, and state parks, state...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 40 - Southwest Minnesota, Worthington to Pipestone

    • 1981
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 40 - Southwest Minnesota" contains a legend of signs and symbols, the larger bikeways map, and the map index. The back side contains: a list of county, municipal, state, and national parks and state rest...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 42 - South Central Minnesota, Albert Lea to Lake Crystal

    • 1980
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 42 - South Central Minnesota" contains a legend of signs and symbols, the larger bikeways map, and the map index. The back side contains: a list of county, municipal, and state parks and state rest areas;...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 28 - West Central Minnesota, Cold Spring to Alexandria

    • 1981
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 28 - West Central Minnesota" contains a legend of signs and symbols, the larger bikeways map, and the map index. The back side contains: a list of county, municipal, and state parks, state forests, and...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Minnesota Bikeways: Map 21 - East Central Minnesota, Cloquet Area

    • 1980
    • The front side of "Minnesota Bikeways: Map 21 - East Central Minnesota" contains a legend of signs and symbols, the larger bikeways map, and the map index. The back side contains: a list of county, municipal, and state parks, state forests, and...
    • Minnesota Department of Transportation, Mn/DOT Library
    • Bedroom, third floor, American Swedish Institute, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1990?
    • This room was originally a guest bedroom, and has housed many exhibits on Swedish life, including weaving, over the years. Completed in 1908, the Swan J. Turnblad mansion was built in the French Chateauesque style. The house became the American...
    • American Swedish Institute
    • Bird's-eye view, Lanesboro, Minnesota

    • 1872
    • Bird's-eye view of the Brooklyn area south of Lanesboro showing Parkway Avenue. Mathias Bue copied this photo that was originally taken by an unidentified photographer.
    • Fillmore County Historical Society
    • Children attending classes at the Capitol City Hebrew School, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Children gathered outside of the Capitol City Hebrew School, with the school entrance in the background. Capitol City Hebrew Free School was one of two schools in St. Paul where Jewish children could learn Hebrew. It was originally affiliated with...
    • University of Minnesota Libraries, Nathan and Theresa Berman Upper Midwest Jewish Archives
    • College of St. Catherine, South view of College Hall, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1915 - 1922
    • External view of College Hall, the second building erected on the campus of the College of St. Catherine by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet. Its construction began in 1912 and was completed in 1914. Although it was originally called College...
    • St. Catherine Library Archives, St. Catherine University
    • Community Center tornado damage in 1998 in St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1998
    • In March of 1998, the Community Center, which was originally constructed as a high school, was destroyed by a tornado in St. Peter, Minnesota. This photo was taken from South Washington Avenue at its intersection with West Nassau Street.
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Congregation B'nai Abraham, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1922
    • View of the front exterior of Congregation B'nai Abraham, which occupied what was originally a Methodist church at the corners of 13th Avenue S. and 9th Street in Minneapolis. The Orthodox congregation was founded by Romanian Jews who settled in...
    • University of Minnesota Libraries, Nathan and Theresa Berman Upper Midwest Jewish Archives
    • Detention building at the St. Peter State Hospital, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • This photograph shows a building that was originally constructed as a patient detention facility at the St. Peter State Hospital. Sources at the hospital state that it was built about 1910. This building was later known as Liberty Hall, which was...
    • St. Peter Regional Treatment Center
    • Detention building at the St. Peter State Hospital, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • This photograph shows a building that was originally constructed as a patient detention facility at the St. Peter State Hospital. Sources at the hospital state that it was built about 1910. This building was later known as Liberty Hall, which was...
    • St. Peter Regional Treatment Center
    • Detention building at the St. Peter State Hospital, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • This photograph shows a building that was originally constructed as a patient detention facility at the St. Peter State Hospital. Sources at the hospital state that it was built about 1910. This building was later known as Liberty Hall, which was...
    • St. Peter Regional Treatment Center
    • Detention St. Peter Hospital, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • This postcard shows a building that was originally constructed as a patient detention facility at the St. Peter State Hospital. Sources at the hospital state that it was built about 1910. This building was later known as Liberty Hall, which was...
    • St. Peter Regional Treatment Center
    • Dia Linn in White Bear Lake, Minnesota

    • 1956
    • Photograph showing the front exterior of Dia Linn. The original site of the treatment center for female alcoholics, it was originally owned by W. O. Washburn, a St. Paul industrialist. It was named Dia Linn, a Gaelic term for "God be with us."
    • Hazelden Foundation
    • Dodge Lumber and Fuel Company loading facility, Rochester, Minnesota

    • 1908?
    • Teams of horses with wagons wait for a delivery load at the Dodge Lumber and & Fuel Company loading facility. The business, originally known as W. H. Dodge, General Dealer in Lumber, was started in 1869 by W. H. Dodge. His son, Elam Dodge, joined...
    • Olmsted County Historical Society

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK