Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: replaced
(1321 results)



Display: 50

    • Gorman Building, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1870 - 1887
    • This photograph shows a view of the Gorman building in St. Peter that was located on the northeast corner of the intersection of Minnesota Avenue and Mulberry street. It was replaced early in the twentieth century by a Carnegie library. To the...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Oronoco Bridge, Oronoco, Minnesota

    • 1877 - 1917
    • The banks of the Zumbro River are spanned by a bridge at Oronoco. This bridge, built about 1876, was the second bridge at this location and was later replaced by a concrete bridge in 1918.
    • Olmsted County Historical Society
    • St. Joseph District School, St. Joseph, Minnesota

    • 1877?
    • Early years in St. Joseph, Minnesota (1863-1880). A new St. Joseph District School #9 was built next to the St. Joseph's Church in 1877. The sisters continued to teach there even though the public versus parochial school controversy had not...
    • Saint Benedict's Monastery
    • Winona and St. Peter Railroad Bridge, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1879?
    • This view of the original Winona and St. Peter Railroad bridge over the Minnesota River that was completed in 1871 appears to look toward Kasota from a location near the St. Peter State Hospital. The bridge was replaced about 1879 by a metal one. ...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Winona and St. Peter Railroad bridge, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1879?
    • This photograph shows the original wooden Winona and St. Peter Railroad bridge near the St. Peter State Hospital. The view appears to be toward the community of Kasota in Le Sueur County. This bridge was replaced by an iron bridge in 1879.
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Okabena's First Depot, Okabena, Minnesota

    • 1880
    • Men standing in front of the small depot building in Okabena. Built in the fall of 1879 and replaced in 1880.
    • Jackson County Historical Society
    • Longfellow High School, Morris, Minnesota

    • 1880 - 1908
    • Located on Block 19 in the original town, built in 1885 with an addition added in 1894. Used as a high school and grammar school. Demolished in 1934 and replaced with a new building, also known as Longfellow School. Note on back of original to...
    • Stevens County Museum and Historical Society
    • Union Passenger Depot, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1881?
    • Original frame building that was replaced by the 1892 Union Depot that still stands.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Knoll's Dry Goods and Groceries Store, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1885?
    • Theodore Knoll operated this dry goods and groceries store in St. Peter. It was located on the northeast corner of the intersection of Third Street and Park Row. A newspaper account states that it was replaced by a new building in 1886.
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Duluth Bill Posting Company wagon, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1890?
    • Duluth Billboard Posting horse drawn wagon driver; two men pasting billboards on second avenue west below first street; the building in background is the Howe Building at 226-232 West First Street, built in 1891 which housed the Kitchi Gammi Club...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • More Hospital room, Eveleth, Minnesota

    • 1895?
    • First steam sterilizer in More hospital in Eveleth; replaced in 1937 with an electric model; framed diagram of this equipment is hanging on the wall of the room
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • More Hospital room, Eveleth, Minnesota

    • 1895?
    • First steam sterilizer in More hospital sterilizing room in Eveleth; replaced in 1937 with an electric model
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lake Reno Reformed Presbyterian Church, Reno, Minnesota

    • 1898?
    • The Lake Reno Reformed Presbyterian Church was organized in 1869. Rev. Edward Elsey was the first minister, 1882-1896. In this photo, Rev. Meyer is standing at the door. Rev. Meyer served the church from 1898-1900. This wood frame building...
    • Pope County Historical Society
    • Longfellow High School, Morris, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • Exterior view of the Longfellow School, located near West 8th Street and Idaho Avenue. Longfellow School was replaced with a new building in 1934. The E. J. Jones home is visible in the background.
    • Stevens County Museum and Historical Society
    • Selby Avenue counterweight streetcar, St. Paul, Minnesota

    • 1900?
    • These counterweight cars, rebuilt from former cable cars, assisted streetcars up and down the steep grade next to the Cathedral of St. Paul., from 1898 to 1907, when the Selby Tunnel replaced it.
    • Minnesota Streetcar Museum
    • John A. Stegner home, Hendricks, Minnesota

    • 1901
    • This house stood on the corner of Garfield and Park streets. The house has both a front and rear porch as well as a fenced in yard. In the peaks of the roof and on the porch was gingerbread, typical of many Victorian homes. Along with the house...
    • Lincoln County Historical Society
    • St. Peter High School, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1907 - 1910
    • This postcard shows a view of two schools in St. Peter. At left is the 1870 school, which was the first high school. At right, is the 1907 school, which replaced the 1870 school as the new high school. Both buildings faced Fifth Street, between...
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Sisters and students at St. Boniface School, Hastings, Minnesota

    • 1908
    • Schools in south-central Minnesota (1876-1909). The German community of Hastings, the second oldest settlement in Minnesota, at first had the Sisters of St. Joseph as their teachers. In 1890, four Benedictine sisters from St. Joseph, MN, replaced...
    • Saint Benedict's Monastery
    • Grey Eagle United Brethren Church, Grey Eagle, Minnesota

    • 1908
    • A postcard showing the children of the Sunday School Class at Grey Eagle United Brethren Church in 1908. Grey Eagle United Brethren in Christ Church was built in 1883. This building was replaced by a new church building in 1922 at a cost of $6000....
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • Tenth Street south, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud, Minnesota

    • 1910 - 1919
    • View of the road leading up to the Tenth Street bridge over the Mississippi River.The 10th Street bridge crossed the Mississippi River from the 1890s to 1985. It was replaced with a modern bridge which opened in 1985.
    • St. Cloud State University Archives
    • Children's Day, July 17, 1910, Cherry Grove, Minnesota

    • 1910-07-17
    • A group of congregants stand in front of a church. The Cherry Grove Evangelical Church was dedicated on November 13, 1982 and cost $2400. In 1925 it was replaced with a new building.
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • Ironton School, Ironton, Minnesota

    • 1911
    • The Ironton School in Ironton, Minnesota, was identical to the White School in Crosby. It was built in 1911 to house 180 students. It was replaced in 1918 by the brick and stone Graded School.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • Methodist Episcopal Church Hill City, Minnesota

    • 1912?
    • A postcard showing the exterior of the Hill City Methodist Episcopal Church. The church was dedicated September 8, 1912. This red brick edifice was built at a cost of $4500. This structure burned down in 1950 and a new one replaced it.
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • 25th Anniversary of Danebod Folk School, Tyler, Minnesota

    • 1913?
    • This panoramic picture of the Danebod Folk School (founded in 1888) and surrounding buildings shows people attending the 25th anniversary celebration. Buildings identified (left to right) are: 1) Wooden school-8 grades; 2) Stone Hall built by...
    • Gustavus Adolphus College
    • Methodist Episcopal Church,  Triumph, Minnesota

    • 1917
    • A postcard showing the exterior of Triumph Methodist Episcopal Church. Originally a Congregational Church, Triumph Methodist Episcopal Church was dedicated in 1893.The church was moved from its country site in Elm Creek township to Monterey in...
    • Minnesota Annual Conference United Methodist Church
    • Graded School, Ironton, Minnesota

    • 1918
    • The Graded School in Ironton, Minnesota, was built in 1918. It replaced the White School house built in 1911.
    • Cuyuna Iron Range Heritage Network
    • The Swedish Hospital, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    • 1920 - 1928
    • Side view of the original Swedish Hospital building in Minneapolis. The ambulance entrance on the right hand side is constructed for carriages. This building was replaced with a larger, more modern building in the late 1920s.
    • Hennepin Medical History Center
    • St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church, St. Peter, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Exterior view of one of the St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Churches that was located at 427 W. Mulberry Street. Behind it was the parochial school. The house to the right was the parsonage. This church was replaced by a new one in 1923.
    • Nicollet County Historical Society
    • Publication staff of "College Days," St. Joseph, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • First 50 years of the College of Saint Benedict (CSB). Archives copies of "College Days" (the CSB literary quarterly) date back to 1920. Academics and collegians contributed feature stories, poetry, editorials, school events, alumnae news, and...
    • Saint Benedict's Monastery
    • Badger And Dean's Addition To Minneapolis

    • 1922-05
    • Map of Henry Dean and Walter Badgers proposed addition to Minneapolis: south of Minnehaha Parkway and north of 53rd Street West between Dupont Avenue South and Lyndale Avenue South. This addition replaced Butler's Brookside Addition. Walter...
    • Hennepin County Library, James K. Hosmer Special Collections Library

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK