Skip to main content

Minnesota Reflections

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: s2386
(392 results)



Display: 50

    • Lenox Hotel Gift Shop, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • The Lenox Hotel opened in 1903 at the corner of Sixth Avenue West and Superior Street. It served the public until 1961. It was razed in 1964.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Morgan Park, Boarding Camp, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910-03-20
    • Morgan Park; Boarding Camp; workers; men cooks in white aprons; boy; people; building; lumber; temporary housing; two story building with tar paper covering held in place with metal studs or nail heads; windows; chimneys
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Clark House, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1870?
    • The hotel called the Clark House was built in 1869 at 111-109 West Superior Street downtown Duluth. It burned on November 16, 1881.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lenox Hotel Bar Workers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • The Lenox Hotel opened in 1903 at the corner of Sixth Avenue West and Superior Street. It served the public until 1961. It was razed in 1964.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lenox Hotel Dining Room Workers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • The Lenox Hotel opened in 1903 at the corner of Sixth Avenue West and Superior Street. It served the public until 1961. It was razed in 1964.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lenox Hotel lobby, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1907-05
    • The Lenox was built in 1903 at 601 West Superior Street. It closed in 1961, and was razed in 1964 or 1965.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: Hunter's Park,  James Prest house, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1926-08-27
    • Hunter's Park; James Prest house at Oxford and Woodland Avenue; 2317 Woodland Avenue; rear view; chimneys; roof iron work; Hunter's Park was named for John Hunter and Ronald Hunter; Glen Avon is named for the glens of Scotland and the river Avon of...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • Hotel Duluth at 227 East Superior Street is the central building in this view looking west.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lenox Hotel Kitchen Workers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • The Lenox Hotel opened in 1903 at the corner of Sixth Avenue West and Superior Street. It served the public until 1961. It was razed in 1964.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Moving Sellars Hotel, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920-10-20
    • On October 22, 1920 this Hibbing, Minnesota hotel was ready to relocate. A newspaper account on January 5, 1921 informed readers the hotel was a $19,000 loss for the joint owners when it collapsed January 4, 1021. The hotel was being moved from...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Resort, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1955 - 1960
    • Cabins at an unidentified resort.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Neighborhoods of Duluth: East Hillside, Hearding Hospital, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • East Hillside; Hearding Hospital; 612 East Third street interior view of surgery room with equipment and gurney; glass fronted cabinets affixed to the walls; sink; toilet; steel enamel tables and carts on wheels; was used as a jail 1884-1924; 1925...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Spalding Hotel and Lyceum Theater, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1890?
    • This is a view looking northeast to downtown Duluth. Superior Street is visible at the right. The large, dark building in the center of the shot is the Spalding Hotel. The building across from the Spalding with the scaffolding is the Lyceum...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Cutting Ice, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1894
    • Workmen cut ice from Lake Superior using horse drawn sleds to haul it.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Cutting Ice, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1885 - 1890
    • Ice dealers position their processing business on the waterfront.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Unidentified Event With Insurance Salesmen, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915?
    • Modern Samaritan Life Insurance Company workers are offering their product at an unidentified event. The Modern Samaritans, fraternal insurance society founded in Duluth about 1897, had a number of Duluth chapters. By 1925, they were located in...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Unidentified event with Modern Samaritan Life Insurance salesmen, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915?
    • Modern Samaritan Life Insurance Company are offering their product at an unidentified event. The Modern Samaritans, fraternal insurance society founded in Duluth about 1897, had a number of Duluth chapters. By 1925, they were located in Samaritans...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Cowen and Zimmerman Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914?
    • Cowen and Zimmerman was an interior decorating business at 531 East Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Aerial View Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1977?
    • The circular plaza feature of the Duluth Public Library is at the left of the open site where the building will stand. On Michigan Street is the St. Louis County Heritage and Arts Center and the 1977 Depot Theater at the far right. The Flame...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Clyde Iron Works Site, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1916-04-14
    • View of Clyde Iron at twenty-ninth Avenue West looking west. A court photograph filed to support a claim or a case.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Downtown, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1938?
    • Aerial view of the Duluth civic center. Fifth Avenue West leads up to the St. Louis County Courthouse. The Duluth City Hall is on the right and the Federal Building is on the left.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Clyde Iron Works workers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1900 - 1910
    • Men and boy employees inside of the Clyde Iron manufacturing company.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Northwestern Fuel Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1922?
    • This retail coal company also dealt in the manufacture of coke, and pig iron. The company had a Duluth presence from 1882 through the 1950s.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Clyde Iron Works site, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1920?
    • Clyde Iron Works Incorporated manufactured heavy equipment from 1889 in Duluth. This is the manufacturing plant at Twenty-ninth Avenue West and Michigan Street from 1908. It had sales warehouses in several cities, including New York, Chicago,...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Asphalt and Donnellite Railway Paving Plant, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1915?
    • Patrick McDonnell was a general contractor whose business office was in the Sellwood building in downtown Duluth. He died in 1918.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Jewelers, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1916 - 1920
    • Interior view of an unidentified jewelry store.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lutes Laundry, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1890 - 1893
    • Lutes Steam Laundry is located at this 814 East Second Street addresses in 1890. It served Duluth customers from the 1880s.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Resilient Auto Wheel Advertising, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1914 - 1922
    • Resilient auto wheel was manufactured by Resilient Auto Wheel Company of Duluth. It was featured in the local 1914 newspaper as a new invention.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Troy Laundry Wagon, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1886?
    • A group of children surround a horse-drawn wagon from Troy Laundry.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Troy Steam Laundry, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1895?
    • Servetus W. Clark's unidentified employees pose in front of his laundry at 510-514 East Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Tom's Logging Camp, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1958?
    • Tom's Logging Camp has been a tourist destination on the North Shore of Lake Superior just beyond Duluth.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Scott-Graff Lumber Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1895?
    • Manufactured wood products of Scott-Graff Lumber Company loaded for delivery. The business was located at Twenty-fourth Avenue West and Superior Street and a slip at Twenty-fifth Avenue West. The principals were Zar D. Scott and Edmund D. Graff.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • DeWitt Zeitz Building, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • The DeWitt-Seitz building still stands in Canal Park. Organized in 1905 by Henry F. Seitz and C. E. De Witt, for more than 20 years was the manufacturing plant of all grades of mattresses and box springs, and wholesale and jobbing of furniture and...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Elliott Meat Packing Plant, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1961?
    • Elliott Meat began operations in 1893 when Hiram Riddle Elliott (died 1938) and Warren Mendenhall bought out the packing company of J. B. Sutphin and G. F. Swift. They renamed the firm and handled a full line of beef, pork, lamb, veal, processed...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Towing Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1923?
    • This vehicle is claimed to be the first customized towing truck in Duluth. An automobile would fit completely on the bed. It was designed and built by Norman Anderson for his Kenwood Wrecking Service. Merlin Anderson and his son are on hand for...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Elliott Meat Packing Plant, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1961-04-30
    • Elliott Meat began operations in 1893 when Hiram Riddle Elliott (died 1938) and Warren Mendenhall bought out the packing company of J. B. Sutphin and G. F. Swift. They renamed the firm and handled a full line of beef, pork, lamb, veal, processed...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Lakeview Store Meat Market, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1927-04-16
    • Morgan Park's grocery store was called Lakeview Store at Eighty-eighth Avenue West.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Grand Bakery, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • The Johnson family's bakery at 434-436 North Fifty-seventh Avenue West.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • West End Advertiser Newsboys, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1910?
    • Newsboys for the West End Advertiser and publisher George M. Jensen (lower right in the derby hat) at Twenty First Avenue West and First Street in Duluth's West End. The West End Advertiser was the precursor to Jensen's Duluth Free Press.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Purity Baking Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1930?
    • Taystee was the brand name of Purity wholesale bakers. The plant was at 2326 West Superior Street.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth News Tribune, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1972
    • The Duluth Herald and the Duluth News Tribune grew out of the early newspapers. This is the current home of the Duluth News Tribunes' staff and production at 422-424 West First Street in downtown Duluth. At the time of its construction and...
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Park State Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1922-07-18
    • The Park State Bank was the bank serving the residents of the Duluth Morgan Park neighborhood near the U. S. Steel plant. It was incorporated in 1916.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Citizens State Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1925?
    • Citizens State Bank, 331 Central Avenue in West Duluth. Also on Central Avenue are Wieland Hardware Company, Swanstrom and Erickson Clothing, and Lurye Furniture.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • Duluth Paper Box Company, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1926
    • In 1926 the Duluth Paper Box Company was owned by Peter J. Van Vick. It was located at 36 East Michigan Street. Van Vick is pictured here in the white shirt and tie, also in the photograph are Van Vick's sons Russell T. and Roger J. Van Vick.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections
    • American Exchange Bank, Duluth, Minnesota

    • 1895?
    • Downtown Duluth bank at Superior street and Third Avenue West.
    • University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Center Collections

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK